Utah law requires commercial property owners to take reasonable precautions against preventable injuries like those sustained in slip-and-fall incidents. This responsibility, known as premises liability, extends beyond commercial property owners to homes, entertainment venues, public places, and government buildings.
You have the right to seek compensation for injuries sustained on another person’s property that were caused by a hazardous situation. 1LAW’s slip and fall lawyers in Layton, Utah, handle these personal injury lawsuits. To obtain legal assistance and clarity on your rights, discussing your case with a lawyer helps.
Whatever the circumstances surrounding your slip and fall accident, it is in your best interest to contact a personal injury attorney as quickly as possible. We will protect your legal rights and ensure that you are compensated fairly for any injuries you sustain.
Economic and non-economic losses, such as those listed below, may be compensated in the event of a successful slip-and-fall injury claim:
Utah law specifies the conditions you must fulfill to establish that a defendant was responsible for your damages. You and your slip and fall lawyer in Layton must demonstrate that they owed you a duty of care and failed to fulfill that obligation, which resulted in injuries.
The extent to which you may be accountable is governed by the comparative negligence rule in Utah. If the court concludes that you were 15% responsible for your damage, your compensation may be reduced by 15%. If the court concludes that you were more than 50% to blame for your injuries, you will not be awarded any compensation.
Slip and fall incidents are very uncommon and usually preventable. You may file a lawsuit if the owner of the premises where the accident took place didn’t warn about the circumstances, take measures to fix the issue, or neglected safety measures. You must show that the defendant was negligent and didn’t take reasonable precautions to keep the premises safe.
If you operate a business, you are responsible for ensuring the safety of anybody who visits your property. You are almost certainly accountable if a hazardous situation on your property causes someone harm. The four elements of negligence that must be proven in a slip and fall claim are:
A personal injury claim must filed within the statute of limitations. This deadline varies by state. In Utah, a personal injury claim must be filed within four years from the date of the accident, as outlined in Utah Code § 78B-2-307.
In the case of a wrongful death claim, it is two years from the date of your loved one’s death from a fall accident. Time is of the essence in these claims. Discuss your case with a Layton slip and fall attorney about your rights and deadlines.
Comparative negligence limits the compensation amount in a slip-and-fall case if you are partly to blame for the incident. The defendant or property owner may try to prove your negligence in a slip-and-fall lawsuit by pointing to prior unsafe conditions on the premises.
The court may decide to lessen your compensation if the defense shows you shared responsibility for the incident. In the event of an accident, if you were found 10% at fault, for example, the court might lower your compensation from $10,000 to $9,000.
When dealing with a slip and fall accident in Utah, determining the worth of a case may be difficult, as it involves several factors. The degree of your injury is the first point of consideration. Your medical treatment as a consequence of the fall accident is also considered.
The second thing to consider is that if any of it is your fault, you must account for that in establishing the worth of the case. The value of your claim can be very difficult to determine, especially early in a case.
Ultimately, your Layton slip and fall lawyer can calculate all the expenses related to your accident and injuries and determine what non-economic losses you may qualify for to arrive at an acceptable settlement amount.
The best way to make sure you don’t lose any money is to avoid talking to the insurance company when they ask for a recorded statement. They don’t want to really help you. As for-profit businesses, it affects their bottom line to pay you the full amount that you deserve.
Also, be mindful of the statute of limitations. While you think you may have enough time to file your claim or lawsuit, it takes time for your lawyer to build a solid case. People’s memories fade over time, and stories can change.
Maximizing your compensation in a slip and fall case requires ensuring that you go to your scheduled doctor’s appointments, retain all financial records of expenses relating to your accident, and letting your lawyer handle communications with insurers, witnesses, and involved parties.
Early on, consulting a fall and slip attorney in Layton will help you avoid potential pitfalls and ensure you are following the rules. The slip and fall attorneys at 1LAW will help identify negligence and take the appropriate legal measures.
We will handle all correspondence with the insurer on your behalf to prevent you from being pressured into accepting an inadequate settlement. Your injury lawsuit will no longer be on your shoulders once we are in the picture, so contact us today to get started with a free consultation.