A personal injury attorney is a law professional that can help you get compensation after an accident. If your injuries were caused by someone else’s negligence or disregard for your safety, you could make them accountable for your damages.
Filing a lawsuit requires the collection of documents, contacting witnesses, and commitment to keep up to date with processes and appointments. And the aftermath of an accident is not the best time to do all of that. A personal injury attorney can take care of your case while you focus on recovering your health.
In order to recover damages, you must be able to prove the facts, negotiate with the other party’s insurance company, and present your case in court, if all negotiations fail. An attorney can assist you with all of that and a lot more.
People who suffer a personal injury need time to rest and recover their health. Not to learn the law and participate in heated legal debates. A personal injury attorney can be your best ally in those moments.
You can recover two main categories of damages after a personal injury in Ogden, Utah:
Your attorney can prove economic damages through the medical bills and the expert’s analysis. Through our Legal on Demand platform, we have helped people get compensation for some of the following:
Monetary damages are not the only compensation you can seek. In Utah, you can also add intangible losses to your claim. However, proving non-economic damages can be more difficult. To do that, victims need to prove their case through witnesses’ statements or expert analyses.
Every state uses different guidelines to determine the amount of non-economic damages. But in most cases, intangible losses tend to reach higher compensations than economic ones. In 2015, a Utah court found a Jiffy Lube management company liable in a car crash. While the economic damages were less than $12,000, non-economic damages exceeded $1.2 million.
Ogden streets are filled with risks, from drunk drivers to unleashed dogs. And whenever someone else’s negligence causes a personal injury, victims are entitled to seek compensatory damages. Some of the most common cases our attorneys have fought include:
Utah State statute of limitations defines the time frame you have to present a personal injury claim in Ogden. The time limit for most personal injury claims is four years. However, there are some considerations your lawyer should take into account. Depending on the circumstances of your case, you could have more or less time than that.
For instance, when the defendant is a government entity or works for one, your time to present a claim could be drastically reduced. Talk to your attorney if you think your deadline is about to come. They can file a lawsuit to give you an extension and prepare you to present your case.
If you or someone you love were the victims of medical malpractice, there are many things to consider. First, your time frame to present a claim is reduced to two years. Second, you need to give a 90-day notice of intent to your medical provider and, 60 days later, submit your request for a prelitigation panel review. Your attorney can explain that process in depth.
If you suffered an accident in Ogden, talk to a personal injury attorney to determine your legal options. Your attorney will help you gather the evidence you need, put you in contact with key witnesses, and represent you in court if an agreement is impossible to reach.
You can chat with a lawyer for free if you or someone you know got a personal injury due to someone else’s negligence. We can give you a free case evaluation and the legal advice you may need during these difficult times.