California law requires a driver of a vehicle to have auto liability insurance. This is because an auto accident may happen at any given time, even when the driver of the vehicle exercises extreme caution or does not cause it. Generally, auto insurance covers the other party’s damages such as, but not limited to: lost wages, medical bills, auto repairs or rental cars, while the vehicle is being repaired.
California law also sets a minimum liability coverage of 15/30/5. This means that the minimum amount of coverage a driver must have is 15/30/5. This also means that the insurance will pay up to:
- $15,000 for the death or bodily injury of a single person;
- Up to a total of $30,000 for the death or bodily injury of all other persons harmed in the same accident; and
- Up to a total of $5,000 for property damages.
In California, although greater liability coverage plans are offered, those plans are optional. But — a driver must have, at minimal, a 15/30/5 liability insurance coverage plan — as it is against California law to drive without auto insurance.
Legal complications arise when an auto accident involves multiple parties, or when drivers have umbrella policies. For these and other reasons, if you or someone you were in the car with has been involved in an auto accident, you should seek the advice of an experienced personal injury lawyer or professional to understand, assess and determine your rights.
Authored by Scott D. McDonald, Esq.