Federal and state employment laws are set up to protect workers. When it comes to your protection, it’s important to know Utah employment laws because occasionally there are differences between the two. Know your rights because unfortunately negligence is common in the workplace.
Safety on the job laws in Utah are stronger than federally mandated. Companies have to follow Utah’s on-the-job safety program and do not have the right to fire, demote or cut the hours of employees for reporting safety issues.
Once a company puts up an ad for a job opening, anti-discrimination laws apply immediately. They cannot discriminate based upon religion, race, gender, marital status, children or disabilities.
Harassment is a federal issue, but Utah has its own agency that investigates any kind of physical or verbal harassment based upon race, gender, age, disability or of a sexual nature.
Utah’s minimum wage is $7.25, which is the same as the federal minimum wage.
Utah companies must carry workers’ compensation insurance that covers workers that are hurt on the job. Regardless of fault, an employee cannot sue the company, but is covered under the workers’ compensation umbrella for lost wages and medical bills.
Utah is an “at will” employment state, which means that a company can fire an employee for no reason and an employee can quit as well. As long as there is no discrimination or negligence issues, final wages are to be paid within 24 hours of employment termination.
1LAW is an affordable, transparent law firm in a time when it’s difficult to differentiate between different firms’ abilities, strengths and weaknesses. We are committed as the voice of our clients when faced with difficult life situations, and provide a tailored fit approach to each individual or entity. The need for a lawyer is often disconcerting, but 1LAW strives to efficiently and affordably provide the best legal support possible.