The beautiful landscape of Utah makes for a great backdrop for a road trip. But if a careless driver causes an accident, the relaxing trip may instantly become a nightmare. You may be entitled to financial compensation if you were seriously injured and another driver was at fault.
Hundreds of automobile accidents occur daily in Utah, resulting in significant injuries or even fatalities. A Layton car accident lawyer from 1LAW will represent you in legal matters arising from the accident. We can help you pursue compensation from the negligent party and tell you how to protect yourself after an auto accident.
The Utah Department of Public Safety may ask those involved in the collision to compile a traffic accident report. If so, you need to provide that report to the appropriate agency as soon as possible; they’ll usually give you 10 days from when you get the request.
Once you contact a car accident attorney from our firm, we’ll get to work. Our prime focus is to get you the compensation you deserve. We initiate an investigation into the incident that includes going to the site, taking notes, interviewing witnesses, and gathering evidence.
Some other evidence we gather includes:
Utah is a no-fault state when it comes to auto insurance, as outlined in Utah Code 31A-22-309(6)(c). It implies that in most cases, regardless of who was at fault for the accident, each individual involved must file a claim under their personal injury protection (PIP) policy.
Our Layton car accident attorneys will compile all the information, such as traffic laws and regulations, that can assist us in better analyzing the collision.
It is only fair that the person responsible for your automobile accident and injuries be held liable for their actions. Our car accident lawyers in Layton will fight for your right to compensation, doing everything in our power to maximze your payout.
Damages for monetary and non-monetary losses are obtainable to Utah accident victims under state law. You may be able to recover damages for the following monetary and intangible losses:
Utah is one of the few states that follows a no-fault insurance policy. Personal injury protection (PIP) policies from your insurance company will pay for medical care and other costs you incur due to the accident. PIP coverage of at least $3,000 is mandated by law for all drivers.
However, the law permits you to seek compensation above your insurance policy in certain situations. If your medical expenses exceed $3,000 or you are permanently disabled, impaired, disfigured, or lost a body part, you can sue for damages even if they are not covered by insurance.
To recover the costs of medical care, time away from work, and emotional distress, you may file a personal injury lawsuit. Consult a personal injury attorney to learn more about your rights after a car accident.
The right to sue in court may be subject to a “statute of limitations” or state law that specifies a deadline by which you must file a lawsuit. After a car accident in Utah, you may have to act quickly to file a lawsuit. Here are some deadlines you must know:
You should give yourself enough time to file a lawsuit. Don’t lose hope if the deadline has passed. Depending on your case, you may need to consult a car accident attorney in Layton, UT, if you’re worried about missing the deadline.
Under Utah’s modified comparative negligence law, if you are partially culpable in an auto accident, you may still file a claim for damages. However, your degree of carelessness must be less than 50%.
Let’s say you decide to go to court after being critically hurt in an automobile accident in Utah. The jury awards you $20,000 for your injuries, mental anguish, and other losses. The jury does, however, attribute 10% of the blame for the collision to your actions. With a 10% reduction (or $2,000), your total judgment for damages drops from $20,000 to $18,000.
When deciding fault in a car accident case, a Utah judge or jury must use the comparative negligence rule, and your auto insurance claims adjuster will use the same standard. Remember that because there is no scientific method for assigning blame, any fault settlement will come down to your ability to negotiate.
It is possible to get out of the no-fault insurance regulation and have the other driver’s insurance pay for your medical bills if your injuries are serious, causing lifelong deformity or amputation.
However, if you were the primary cause of the collision, you probably won’t be able to sue for damages, no matter how serious your injuries are.
Contact our attorneys at 1LAW after your accident to get legal guidance and a consultation for free. Discuss your case with us. We’ll then lay out the possibilities for you.
If you choose us to represent you, there are no upfront costs. You only pay us a percentage of your settlement or court award if and when we win your case.
A Layton car accident attorney will go through your case details, provide guidance on how to proceed legally, recreate the accident scene, and advocate for you to get the money you deserve.